Lehigh Valley Road Runners Annual Scholarship

Available to two young men and two young women for $4000 each.

Eligibility requirements are as follows:

The Scholarship Fund was established to assist local high school graduates with college expenses and is funded by LVRR races and through fund raising efforts of the club. This is one way the club gives back to the community.

Its purpose is to foster interest in the sport we love, and to demonstrate our commitment to youth running. By supporting young people who have demonstrated academic and athletic excellence, community involvement, and a strong interest in running, we are encouraging healthy, productive and disciplined lifestyles in these young adults who will be the leaders of the future.

Applicant eligibility and selection requirements are as follows:

  • Applicants must be PA resident for the past two years, a graduating high school senior from either Lehigh or Northampton counties, a member of their high school cross country or track team and must compete as an individual in running events.
  • Applicants must have a minimum 2.5 GPA as certified by their guidance counselor and be accepted at a 2 or 4 year college.
  • Scholarships are also are based on extracurricular activities and community involvement including LVRR events.
  • Two letters of recommendations are required, one from their cross country or track coach and the other from an individual not related to them, such as a teacher, employer, etc.
  • An essay of about 250 words on how running has influenced their life and what the sport has meant to them personally.

Also, an acknowledgement signed by a parent or legal guardian that collegiate athletic association regulations may prohibit the applicant from accepting the scholarship if they are attending college on an athletic scholarship.

Deadline: May 31st of current year.

Download Application


Scholarship Recipients

2017 Hailemichael Geiger – Parkland (DeSales to study Nursing)
Ivan Korpics – Bethlehem Catholic (Mount Saint Mary’s to study Sports Management and Marketing)
Sydney DelVecchio – Parkland (Rider University to study Elementary Education)
Allyson Yanega – Southern Lehigh (Dickinson to study Biology)
2016 Kevin Lapsansky (Easton)
Calvin Schneck (Whitehall)
Katie Bacher (Emmaus)
Mikayla Stoudt (Parkland)
2015 Angelina Biondo (Penn Argyl)
Shaina Palmer (Freedom)
Alex Fitch (Liberty)
Andrew Shaffer (Bethlehem Catholic)
2013 Jaryd Flank (Wilson Area H.S.)
William Nemeth (Parkland H.S.)
Mara Blanchard (Bethlehem Catholic H.S.)
Cassidy Newman (Parkland H.S.)
2012 Tyler Laubach (Northampton H.S.)
Cole Campbell (Emmaus H.S.)
Amy Darlington (Liberty H.S.)
Shana Peterson (Freedom H.S.)
2011 Kathleen Anthony (Parkland H.S.)
Jessica Cygan (Liberty H.S.)
Dan Fitzpatrick (Allentown Central Catholic H.S.)
Matt Kacyon (Whitehall H.S.)

Congratulations and best of luck to you in college!